Heat recovery in the roasting process of our cocoa beans
Neuigkeiten

Heat recovery in the roasting process of our cocoa beans

With regard to the challenge of producing more sustainably without compromising quality - heat recovery in the roasting process of our cocoa beans

When Felchlin Switzerland invests in sustainability issues, a standard solution is usually inconceivable. The ground is that even the slightest change in the manufacturing process can have a significant impact on the quality of our premium couvertures. Judicious planning, the taking into account of all eventualities, as well as the willingness to go the extra mile, both in terms of effort and investment volume, are a prerequisite for us.

The following is a prime example: With the installation of a heat recovery system on our roasting equipment, a standard solution in which the heated exhaust air is fed directly back into the roasting process did not come into question for quality reasons. Therefore, our Head of Technology Daniel Busslinger, in sync with a specialized engineering firm, developed a composite heat exchanger specially adapted to the Cacao process, which feeds the exhaust air heat back into the roasting process via a separate water circuit.

Because this was a bespoke system and designed to meet the needs and conditions of Felchlin Switzerland, it works extremely efficiently, and it has been possible to reduce gas consumption and thus also CO2 emissions by around 45%. Following the conversion of the first roasting line in 2018, the second roaster was also successfully retrofitted in December 2021.

Wärmerückgewinnung beim Röstprozess unserer Cacaobohnen
Neuigkeiten

Wärmerückgewinnung beim Röstprozess unserer Cacaobohnen

Wenn bei der Max Felchlin AG in Nachhaltigkeitsthemen investiert wird, kommen meistens keine Standardlösungen in Frage. Denn jede noch so kleine Veränderung am Herstellungsprozess kann entscheidende Auswirkungen auf die Qualität unserer Premium Couverturen haben. Eine sorgfältige Planung unter Berücksichtigung aller Eventualitäten, sowie die Bereitschaft sowohl beim Aufwand, als auch beim Investitionsvolumen eine Extra Meile zu gehen, sind bei uns Voraussetzung.

So geschehen zum Beispiel beim Einbau einer Wärmerückgewinnungsanlage an unsere Röstanlagen. Eine Standardlösung bei welcher die erhitzte Abluft direkt zurück in den Röstprozess geleitet wird, kam aus Qualitätsgründen nicht in Frage. Daher hat unser Leiter Technik Daniel Busslinger, zusammen mit einem spezialisierten Ingenieurbüro einen speziell auf den Cacao Prozess abgestimmten Verbundwärmetauscher entwickelt, welcher die Abluftwärme über einen separaten Wasserkreislauf wieder in den Röstprozess zurück speist.

Weil die Anlage speziell auf die Bedürfnisse und Gegebenheiten der Max Felchlin AG hin konstruiert worden ist, arbeitet diese äusserst effizient. Es ist gelungen den Gasverbrauch und damit verbunden auch den CO2 Ausstoss um rund 45% zu reduzieren. Nachdem der Umbau der ersten Röstlinie bereits im 2018 erfolgt ist, wurde nun im Dezember 2021 auch der zweite Röster erfolgreich nachgerüstet.